New Zealand Women 1 – 0 Norway Women

Co-hosts New Zealand began the Women’s World Cup with a major shock when they beat Norway 1–0 to record the country’s first win in the finals.

Neither the New Zealand men’s nor the women’s team had previously claimed victory in the World Cup final, but Hannah Wilkinson sealed a historic victory with a stunning team goal three minutes after half-time.

1995 World Cup winners Norway were poor with the ball and Arsenal midfielder Freida Manam was guilty of missing two big chances in both halves. Late on, Tuvan Hansen was denied a late equalizer by New Zealand goalkeeper Victoria Esson, who fired a long range effort over the crossbar.

New Zealand had a great chance to seal victory when they were awarded a late penalty by VAR – referee Yoshimi Yamashita addressed the 42,000-strong crowd via loudspeaker about the decision under new rules being tested by FIFA. However, Ferns midfielder Rhea Percival hit the bar with a spot-kick

But the evening still belonged to New Zealand, who persevered despite 10 minutes of stoppage time to run the Women’s World Cup off in style, in front of a record crowd for a women’s football match in their home country.

Frida Manam of Norway reacts after missing the chance

More to follow.

What to watch on Sky Sports this week?

151st Open – 20 to 23 July – Live on Sky Sports Golf
4th Men’s Ashes Test – 19 to 23 July – Live on Sky Sports Cricket
premier league summer series – From 23 July – Live on Sky Sports Premier League
Hungarian Grand Prix – 21 to 23 July – Live on Sky Sports F1
F1 Juniors: Hungarian GP – 23 July – Live on Sky Sports Mix
world matchplay darts – 17 to 23 July – Live on Sky Sports Action
Women’s World Matchplay Darts – 22 to 23 July – Live on Sky Sports Action
IBF Lightweight Title Eliminator – 23 July – Live on Sky Sports Action

Now enjoy live action from The Open, F1, The Ashes, Premier League and more

What is the schedule?

The group stage has started and will go on for a period of two weeks 3 August The group winners and runners-up advance to the Round of 16, which takes place from 5 august To August 8,

The quarter-finals, which will be held in Wellington, Auckland, Brisbane and Sydney, are scheduled 11th and 12th August,

After this the first semi-final will be played August 15 The second semi-final will be held in Auckland 16 august at Accor Stadium in Sydney, which will then host the final 20 august,

The third place play-off will be played a day before the final 19 august in Brisbane.

Show More
Back to top button

disable ad blocker

please disable ad blocker